And the Winner Is…

The Pulitzer Prizes are awarded annually for achievement in newspaper journalism, literature, and musical competition in the United States. The 2010 awards were announced earlier today in a variety of categories.

book covers
Fiction: Tinkers by Paul Harding

History: The Lords of Finance: The Bankers Who Broke the World by Liaquat Ahamed

Biography: The First Tycoon: The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt by T.J. Stiles

Drama: Next to Normal by Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey

Poetry: Versed by Rae Armantrout

General Nonfiction: The Dead Hand: The Untold Story of the Cold War Arms Race and Its Dangerous Legacy by David E. Hoffman

Music: Violin Concerto by Jennifer Higdon

There was also a special citation given posthumously to country music icon Hank Williams.

And closer to home, among the many journalism awards, The Seattle Times received the “Breaking News Reporting” award.

For a full list of award winners and finalists, and to learn more about the history of the award, visit the Pulitzer Prizes website.